linear to log space

Home Page forums Autodesk/Discreet Toxik linear to log space

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Dubiduu
    Participant

Hi all,

This is my first time working in lin-log workflow.
    Im working on full CG movie, 3D guys send the render result in gamma 1.0.

Im using cinespace to profile my monitor.
    After profiling, I create the LUT to apply in Toxik.
    Do I have to apply the LUT everytime I create a new comp? or is there any automatic way?

After compositing, I have to export to DPX Cineon. Should I apply ‘log’ tool or not?

I really appreciate if there’s any explanation about this workflow (gamma, linear, log things). It’s quite confusing though…

Thanks alot.

Leo

Tobin
    Participant

sorry, i can´t help you in toxik, but there is a nice tutorial for combustion regarding this topic:

http://www.creativecow.net/show.php?page=/articles/bell_alan/bit_depth/index.html

maybe this is helpful,

timor

Tanner Wickware
    Participant
    Dubiduu wrote:
    Do I have to apply the LUT everytime I create a new comp? or is there any automatic way?

If I understand correctly what you are trying to achieve, what you should do is to have the LUT tool used as a “display modifier” in your Player view. Drag the LUT tool from the East gate, go over the Player, open the Gate UI by pressing the middle mouse button, and drop the LUT tool into the “Display” tab in your Player options. By doing this, the LUT tool will be applied to anything displayed in the Player.

Quote:
    After compositing, I have to export to DPX Cineon. Should I apply ‘log’ tool or not?

You do not need to apply the LUT tool per se. Instead, you should set the “Format Options” in your Publish project settings (I am going from memory, the labels might be slightly different) to set a color conversion to be done when publishing in DPX format.

Hope this helps.

Regads,

Charles