And the winner is…

The winner of this year’s Academy Award for Best Visual Effects is Gravity (Tim Webber, Chris Lawrence, David Shirk and Neil Corbould). Congratulations to all the artists involved in bringing this film to life. Here’s visual effects supervisor Tim Webber’s full acceptance speech:

Tim Webber: On behalf of all of us, thank you so much to the Academy, for this honor in a year with such amazing visual effects. Visual effects and filmmaking is all about the team and there’s far too many to mention properly but I’d like to mention David Heyman, Nikki Penny, Emmanuel Lubezki, all of the shooting crew, RSP, and the incredible team at Framestore. It seemed like a crazy project so thank you to Warner Bros. and in particular Chris De Faria for believing in it. To George Clooney and especially Sandra Bullock for filling our visual effects with life and with emotion. But most of all, to Alfonso Cuarón for having, with Jonás, the vision of this breathtaking film, the audacity to make it happen and the courage to trust us to have such a big part in making it come to life. And finally, thank you to our families and the families of all visual effects artists. Thank you very much.

Tim Webber and the Gravity VFX team.
Tim Webber and the Gravity VFX team.

Meanwhile, Frozen (Chris Buck, Jennifer Lee and Peter Del Vecho) took out the Animated Feature Film award, and Mr. Hublot (Laurent Witz and Alexandre Espigares) won for Best Short Film (Animated).

And for cinematography, Gravity’s Emmanuel Lubezki took out the award. He specifically thanks Tim Webber from Framestore, among others.