Actor-producer John Cho and producer-actress-writer Issa Rae announced the 92nd Oscars nominations today, live from the David Geffen Theater at the Academy Museum of Motion Pictures.

Academy members from each of the 17 branches vote to determine the nominees in their respective categories – actors nominate actors, film editors nominate film editors, etc. In the Animated Feature Film and International Feature Film categories, nominees are selected by a vote of multi-branch screening committees. All voting members are eligible to select the Best Picture nominees. There are 8,469 voting members of the Academy. The 92nd Oscars have 24 competition award categories, and last year 58 of the 13.5 ” goldern Oscar statutes were given out (multiple people can win in many of the categories).

The 92nd Oscars will be held on Sunday, February 9, 2020, at the Dolby Theatre at Hollywood & Highland Center in Hollywood and televised live in more than 225 countries and territories worldwide.

This year the major Technical Oscars have been moved to mid-year, so there are no Scientific or Technical Oscar announcements.

Congratulations to all the nominees and their crews, (below are some of the key craft nominations).

Achievement in Visual Effects:



Dan DeLeeuw, Russell Earl, Matt Aitken and Dan Sudick


Pablo Helman, Leandro Estebecorena, Nelson Sepulveda-Fauser and Stephane Grabli


Robert Legato, Adam Valdez, Andrew R. Jones and Elliot Newman


Guillaume Rocheron, Greg Butler and Dominic Tuohy


Roger Guyett, Neal Scanlan, Patrick Tubach and Dominic Tuohy

Fxguide is featuring fxpodcasts with various Visual Effects nominees as part of a special Oscar series.

So far we have released two episodes:

fxpodcast#321: Oscar Countdown: Dan DeLeeuw Avengers: End Game

fxpodcast#322: Oscar Countdown: Rob Legato The Lion King

Best Animated Feature Film:


How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World (Universal) : Dean DeBlois, Bradford Lewis and Bonnie Arnold.

This is the third nomination for Dean DeBlois, who was nominated for How to Train Your Dragon (2010) and How to Train Your Dragon 2 (2014). This is the first nomination for Bradford Lewis.
This is the second nomination for Bonnie Arnold, who was nominated for How to Train Your Dragon 2 (2014).

I Lost My Body (Netflix) : Jérémy Clapin and Marc du Pontavice .

This is the first nomination for both.


Klaus (Netflix) : Sergio Pablos, Jinko Gotoh and Marisa Román.

This is the first nomination for all three.

Missing Link (United Artists Releasing) : Chris Butler, Arianne Sutner and Travis Knight.

This is the second nomination for Chris Butler, who was nominated for ParaNorman (2012). This is the second nomination for Arianne Sutner, who was nominated for Kubo and the Two Strings (2016).
This is the third nomination for Travis Knight, who was nominated for The Boxtrolls (2014) and Kubo and the Two Strings (2016).

Toy Story 4 (Walt Disney) : Josh Cooley, Mark Nielsen and Jonas Rivera.

This is the second nomination and first in this category for Josh Cooley. He was nominated for the original screenplay for Inside Out (2015). This is the first nomination for Mark Nielsen. This is the third nomination and second in this category for Jonas Rivera. He was nominated in the Best Picture category for Up (2009) and won the award for Animated Feature Film for Inside Out (2015)

Achievement in Cinematography

The Irishman (Netflix): Rodrigo Prieto

Joker (Warner Bros.):  Lawrence Sher

The Lighthouse (A24):  Jarin Blaschke

1917 (Universal/Amblin Partners): Roger Deakins

Once upon a Time…in Hollywood (Sony Pictures Releasing): Robert Richardson

Achievement in Production Design

The Irishman (Netflix) Production Design: Set Decoration: Bob Shaw Regina Graves

Jojo Rabbit (Fox Searchlight) Production Design: Set Decoration: Ra Vincent Nora Sopková

1917 (Universal/Amblin Partners) Production Design: Set Decoration: Dennis Gassner Lee Sandales

Once upon a Time…in Hollywood (Sony Pictures Releasing) Production Design: Set Decoration: Barbara Ling Nancy Haigh

Parasite (Neon) Production Design: Set Decoration: Lee Ha Jun Cho Won Woo

Best Animated Short Film

Dcera (Daughter) : Daria Kashcheeva

Hair Love (Sony Pictures Releasing) : Matthew A. Cherry and Karen Rupert Toliver

Kitbull (Walt Disney/Pixar):  Rosana Sullivan and Kathryn Hendrickson

Memorable (A Vivement Lundi ! Production): Bruno Collet and Jean-François Le Corre

Sister (A California Institute of the Arts Production) : Siqi Song