A huge congratulations to all the winners and all the nominated films teams of artists at this year’s 90th Oscars.

Winners :

The Winners for Best Visual Effects are:


  • John Nelson,
  • Gerd Nefzer,
  • Paul Lambert and
  • Richard R. Hoover


Congratulations to all the teams behind Blade Runner 2049. From the incredible environment work to the digital characters of JOI and Rachel, this film delivered stunning imagery. The combined efforts of so many artists delivered a beautifully paced and worthy successor to the original Cinema classic. The original film was nominated for both Visual Effects and Art Direction in 1983 but lost in both categories. The original nominees Douglas Trumbull, David Dryer and Richard Yuricich in some respects share in this award as 2049 both extends the craft and pays respectful homage to the original Blade Runner.

In their acceptance speeches, the team tanked above and below the line crew and cast. John Nelson in particular singled out ” DNEG, Framestore, MPC, BUF, Rodeo, UPP, Atomic, Weta, Alcon, Warner Bros., and Sony”.

Below the Oscar Winning team talked Backstage.

Blade Runner 2049 fxguide stories:




John Nelson signs posters backstage with the Oscar for achievement in visual effects for work on “Blade Runner 2049”
Richard Hoover gets his Oscar for visual effects engraved at the Governors Ball

Sir Patrick Stewart, Mark Elendt and Kim Davidson At the Sci-Tech Oscars

fxguide stories about the Oscar winners and their films:

The Sci-tech Winners,  fxguide stories

Side Effects: Houdini

Foundry: Nuke

Dreamworks: Premo

The Winner for Animated Feature film is: Disney/Pixar’s Coco

  • Lee Unkrich and
  • Darla K. Anderson

(Note the Best Animated film goes to the animated film’s producers not the film’s directors).


Lee Unkrich, Oscar winner for best animated feature film for work on Coco, and Oscar Isaac backstage


Pixar’s Adrian Molina, Lee Unkrich, Benjamin Bratt, Darla K. Anderson and Anthony Gonzalez pose backstage

The Winner for Best Animated Short Film 

Dear Basketball:

  • Glen Keane and
  • Kobe Bryant



BBJ backstage

The Winner for Cinematography is: BLADE RUNNER 2049:

  • Roger A. Deakins
Roger Deakins

Nominated 14 times, tonight Roger Deakins was rewarded for his outstanding work in Blade Runner 2049. The Cinematographer has been long overdue for an Oscar having done been nominated for such classics as Skyfall, Sicario, Unbroken, The Reader, True Grit, No Country for Old Men, O Brother, Where Art Thou?, Kundun and Fargo amongst others. His first nomination was 24 years ago in 1994 for Best Cinematography in The Shawshank Redemption.

On stage Deakins commented on his crew and their loyalty over the years saying, “you know, I really love my job. I’ve been doing it a long time as you can see. But you know, one of the reasons I really love it is the people I work with, both in front of the camera and behind the camera. Some of my crew on “Blade Runner,” I’ve been working with for over thirty years, and others I met for the first time in Budapest. And this is for every one of them, every one of them. In fact, I gotta say it’s for us, because it was a team. It was really a team effort. Thank you, thank you, very much.”

The Winner for Best Film Editing is: 


Lee Smith


Lee Smith poses backstage with his Oscar

Best Picture, Best Director and Winner for Production Design was THE SHAPE OF WATER.


Director Guillermo del Toro and J. Miles Dale, Guillermo del Toro and J. Miles Dale: Producers

  • Paul Denham Austerberry (Production Design);
  • Shane Vieau and
  • Jeff Melvin (Set Decoration)

Del Toro on stage commented, “The place I like to live the most is at Fox Searchlight because in 2014, they came to listen to a mad pitch with some drawings and the story and a maquette. And they believed that a fairy tale about an amphibian god and mute woman , -done in the style of Douglas Sirk-, and a musical and a thriller , – was a sure bet.”

The Shape of Water,  fxguide story:



Doug Jones star of The Shape of Water, arrives on the red carpet of The 90th Oscars at the Dolby Theatre.
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap